# The Third PANDA Symposium: First results from Insight-HXMT

## June 18-22, 2018, Chengdu, China

Website: http://indico.ihep.ac.cn/event/7652/

#### \*\*\* SYMPOSIUM BACKGROUND\*\*\*

The PANDA Symposia series are aiming at establishing and fostering collaborations among young scholars (0-6 years from graduation) from the Pacific/Asiatic scientific community with their peers across the globe. Besides enabling scientific mobility and networking, we are also aiming in providing young researchers with a forum to exchange ideas on current and future projects. The Symposia should take place every 2-3 years and have been held successfully two times.

A major goal of the PANDA series is to enable scientific and cultural interactions and mentoring across the international borders. The first and second meetings were very successful, with the participants expressing their strong desire for the continuation of the Symposia. We, therefore, formed a scientific board comprising members from the broad international astrophysics community, which has provided guidance on the organization of the 3<sup>rd</sup> PANDA Symposium.

### \*\*\* SCIENTIFIC RATIONALE \*\*\*

The Hard X-ray Modulation Telescope (HXMT), also known as Insight, is China's first space X-ray astronomy satellite, designed to observe X-ray emission from compact objects, such as black holes, neutron stars and Gamma Ray Bursts (GRBs). This satellite was successfully launched on June 15, 2017, and has already produced multiple interesting results during its in-orbit test. In particular, the Insight-HXMT participated in a global joint observation in search of the electromagnetic counterparts of GW170817, providing a stringent constraint for the properties of the electromagnetic radiation from this binary neutron star merger. We plan to unveil the first results from the Insight-HXMT at the anniversary of its launch, during the 3<sup>rd</sup> PANDA Symposium. We will also take this opportunity to discuss some hot topics in high-energy astrophysics and introduce the mission to the younger Pacific/Asiatic as well as the international community.

## \*\*\*SCIENTIFIC AGENDA\*\*\*

The 3<sup>rd</sup> PANDA Symposium aims to include experts in many high-energy astrophysics areas. It is organized in 5 days: the first day will be devoted to Insight-HXMT results, introducing the satellite's instrumentation and research highlights. The next three days are organized as independent miniworkshops in three scientific sub-areas, namely, gravitational waves and their electromagnetic counterparts, extreme accretion events on black holes, and neutron stars. Each mini-workshop will have lectures from senior lecturers setting the stage on the subject matter with comprehensive reviews. During these workshops, graduate students and young scholars will present their ongoing research results to their peers.

### \*\*\*SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZING COMMITTEE\*\*\*

The Symposia subject and venue is decided by an International Board of senior members who appoint the **Scientific Organizing Committee (PANDA Board**). The current Board consists of the following members:

Chryssa Kouveliotou (Chair, George Washington University)

Martin Ward (Chair, Durham University)

Ralph Wijers (Chair, University of Amsterdam)

Shuang-Nan Zhang (Chair, Institute for High Energy Physics)

Matthew Baring (Rice University)

Catherine Cesarsky (CEA Saclay)

Zi-Gao Dai (Nanjing University)

Christine Jones Forman (Harvard University)

James Guillochon (Harvard ITC)

Xiang-Dong Li (Nanjing University)

En-Wei Liang (Guangxi University)

Lin Lin (Beijing Normal University)

Fang-Jun Lu (Institute for High Energy Physics)

Richard Manchester (CSIRO)

Richard McCray (JILA)

Julie McEnery (NASA/GSFC)

Elena Pian (INAF-IASFBO)

Michel Rieutord (Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de Toulouse)

Antonia Rowlinson (University of Amsterdam)

Liming Song (Institute for High Energy Physics)

Grazina Tautvaisiene (Vilnius University)

Virginia Trimble (University of California, Irvine)

Pietro Ubertini (Institute for Space Astrophysics and Planetology, Roma)

Ed van den Heuvel (University of Amsterdam)

Alexander van der Horst (Columbian College of Arts & Sciences)

Jian-Min Wang (Institute for High Energy Physics)

Anna Watts (University of Amsterdam)

Patrick Woudt (University of Cape Town)

Xue-Feng Wu (Purple Mountain Observatory, Nanjing)

Shaolin Xiong (Institute for High Energy Physics)

Shu Zhang (Institute for High Energy Physics)

### **Local Organizing Committee**

Liming Song (Chair, IHEP)

Yue Sun (IHEP)

Qian-Qing Yin (IHEP)

Hongwei Liu (IHEP)

•••••