1. IE browser is NOT supported anymore. Please use Chrome, Firefox or Edge instead.
2. If you are a new user, please register to get an IHEP SSO account through https://login.ihep.ac.cn/registlight.jsp Any questions, please email us at helpdesk@ihep.ac.cn or call 88236855.
3. If you need to create a conference in the "Conferences, Workshops and Events" zone, please email us at helpdesk@ihep.ac.cn.
4. The max file size allowed for upload is 100 Mb.
Feb 19 – 21, 2024
HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study, Lo Ka Chung Building, Lee Shau Kee Campus
Asia/Shanghai timezone

Visa information

Nationals of about 170 countries and territories may visit Hong Kong without a visa/entry permit for a period ranging from 7 days to 180 days. For more information on visa/entry permit requirements for visitors to the HKSAR, you may refer to the "Visit Visa / Entry Permit Requirements for the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" webpage.

A visit to the Jiangmen Underground Neutrino Observatory (JUNO) will be arranged on February 21, 2024, which is located in Kaiping, Jiangmen City, Guangdong Province of China. Many participants need to apply for a Chinese Visa or the 144-hour visa-free transit from Hong Kong to Guangzhou by air. 

If there is ample time, applying for a Chinese visa is still one of the safest and convenient ways. Based on the arrangements for future visit, we recommend applying for a Chinese visa as your first choice.

To further facilitate cross-border travel and China’s high-quality development and high-standard opening up, China has decided to apply unilateral visa-free policy to more countries on a trial basis, which involves extending visa-free treatment to travelers holding ordinary passports from six countries, namely France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Malaysia. From December 1, 2023 to November 30, 2024, citizens from the above-mentioned countries holding ordinary passports can be exempted from visa to enter China and stay for no more than 15 days for business, tourism, family visit and transit purposes.


Chinese Visa Application

Both the business visa (F type visa) and tourist visa will enable foreign participants to enter the mainland of China. If you prefer to apply for the F type visa, we will send the invitation letter to you via email. In this case, please fill in the following information at the registration page or send the information to npb2024@ihep.ac.cn.

Full name (as it appears in your passport):
Date of Birth: YYYY/MM/DD
Passport Number:
Passport issue date:
Passport expiry date:
City where you want to get the visa from 
(In this city there is a Chinese embassy or consulate where you want to get the visa from):
Research Field:
Job Title:

144-hour visa-free transit

Foreign nationals applying for the 144-hour visa-free transit shall hold a valid passport or other international travel documents, interline tickets with confirmed date and seat to leave for a third country (region) within 144 hours, fill landing card for foreigners in transit at Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, and accept inquiries from the entry-exit frontier inspection station. The area of stay of the transit visa-free stay will be Guangdong Province.

Foreigners eligible for the 144-hour visa-free transit policy for foreigners may choose to enter the country from any of the airports of Guangzhou Baiyun, Shenzhen Bao'an and Jieyang Chaoshan, and exit from any of the 32 ports in Guangdong Province approved and agreed to by the State Council.

  • List of countries enjoying 144-hour visa-free transit (53 countries in total)

Austria, Belgium, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, Belarus, United States of America, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, and Qatar.

  • 32 ports in Guangdong Province include

five airports: Guangzhou Baiyun, Shenzhen, Meizhou, Zhanjiang and Jieyang Chaoshan; four railway ports: Guangzhou Tianhe, Dongguan Changping, Foshan and Zhaoqing; eight highway ports in Shenzhen, namely Wenjindu, Shatoujiao, Huanggang, Luohu, Shenzhen Bay, Futian, Zhuhai Gongbei and Hengqin; and a total of 15 ports and harbours, including Guangzhou Harbour, Nansha Harbour, Lianhuashan Harbour, Shekou Wharf, Shenzhen Airport Supporting Terminal, Jiuzhou Harbour, Wanzhai, Wanshan Harbour, Doumen Harbour, Jiangmen Harbour, Heshan Harbour, Foshan Gaoming Harbour, Shunde Passenger Harbour, Zhongshan Harbour, and Dongguan Humen Port.

  • Notice

Although some ports are within the catalogue, they may not be open for various reasons and need to be confirmed in advance.

The 144-hour visa-free transit policy for foreigners applies to transit to a third country or region, i.e., the country or region from which the entry is made and the country or region to which the exit is made must be different countries or regions.

An example of the trip plan for those who want to use 144-hour visa-free transit

a) Travel from the home country to Hong Kong by air to attend the symposium;
b) Travel From the Hong Kong international airport to Guangzhou Baiyun international airport by air, eligible for 144 visa free transit;
c) visit JUNO at Kaiping, Jiangmen City, Guangdong Province;
d) Travel from Guangzhou international airport or Shenzhen Baoan international airport to the home country. Hong Kong could not be returned again because the exit must be different countries or regions.

Guangzhou Baiyun international Airport is more closer to JUNO,the visiting venue.

For any questions regarding the Visa information, please contact:

Ms. Yinghua Jia (IHEP, Beijing)

Phone: 86-10-88233092
Email:  jiayh@ihep.ac.cn