1. IE browser is NOT supported anymore. Please use Chrome, Firefox or Edge instead.
2. If you are a new user, please register to get an IHEP SSO account through https://login.ihep.ac.cn/registlight.jsp Any questions, please email us at helpdesk@ihep.ac.cn or call 88236855.
3. If you need to create a conference in the "Conferences, Workshops and Events" zone, please email us at helpdesk@ihep.ac.cn.
4. The max file size allowed for upload is 100 Mb.
May 21 – 26, 2017
Beijing International Convention Center
Asia/Shanghai timezone

Development of a SiPM camera demonstrator for the Cherenkov Telescope Array observatory telescopes

May 24, 2017, 2:00 PM
Room 307 (Beijing International Convention Center)

Room 307

Beijing International Convention Center

No.8 Beichen Dong Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing P. R. China 100101
oral Photon detectors R4-Photon detectors(4)


Valerio Vagelli (INFN Perugia, Università degli Studi di Perugia)


The Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) Consortium is developing the new generation of ground observatories for the detection of very-high energy gamma-rays. The Italian Institute of Nuclear Physics (INFN) is contributing to the R&D of a possible solution for the Cherenkov photon cameras based on Silicon Photomultiplier (SiPM) detectors sensitive to near ultraviolet energies, produced by Fondazione Bruno Kessler (FBK). The concept, mechanics and readout electronics for SiPM modules which could equip a possible upgrade for the focal plane camera of the pSCT telescope, prototype of a CTA medium size telescope with Schwarzschild-Couder optics, are currently being developed. This contribution reviews the development, the assembly and the performances of 4x4 SiPM modules intended to equip the pSCT camera upgrade.

Primary author

Valerio Vagelli (INFN Perugia, Università degli Studi di Perugia)


Alfonso Boiano (INFN Napoli) Andrea Rugliancich (INFN Pisa) Carla Aramo (INFN Napoli) Carmela Bonavolontà (INFN Napoli) Corrado de Lisio (INFN Napoli, Università degli Studi di Napoli) Daniela Simone (INFN Bari) Elisabetta Bissaldi (INFN Bari, Università e Politecnico di Bari) Emanuele Fiandrini (INFN Perugia, Università degli Studi di Perugia) Francesco Giordano (INFN Bari, Università e Politecnico di Bari) Giovanni Ambrosi (INFN Perugia) Leonardo di Venere (INFN Bari, Università e Politecnico di Bari) Maria Ionica (INFN Perugia) Massimo Valentino (INFN Napoli, CNR-Spin Napoli) Michelangelo Ambrosio (INFN Napoli) Nicola Giglietto (INFN Bari, Università e Politecnico di Bari) Riccardo Paoletti (INFN Pisa, Università di Siena) Vasile Postolache (INFN Perugia) Vincenzo Masone (INFN Napoli)

Presentation materials